The Scientific Board prepares recommendations on scientific direction and on ensuring a high degree of scientific productivity.  The Scientific Board consists of ten researchers who are internationally recognized at the highest level and an additional (non-voting) member with outstanding management experience. The members were appointed by the Board of Trustees for a term of 6 years.

Peter Fratzl

Peter Fratzl
Director, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam, Germany

Maria J. Esteban
Research Director, CEREMADE, CNRS and Université Paris-Dauphine

Angelika Amon
Professor, Department of Biology, MIT, Cambridge, USA

Ben Feringa
Professor, University of Groningen, Netherlands

Tony F. Heinz
Professor of Applied Physics and of Photon Science, Stanford University, USA

Hannah Monyer
Professor, Department of Clinical Neurobiology, University of Heidelberg, Germany

Gene Myers
Director, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Biology and Genetics (MPI-CBG), Dresden, Germany

Martin Nowak
Professor, Program for Evolutionary Dynamics, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA

Gordon Plotkin
Professor, Laboratory for Foundations of Computer Science, University of Edinburgh, UK

Petra Schwille
Director, Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Martinsried, Deutschland

Non-voting Member:
Claus J. Raidl
President, Oesterreichische Nationalbank, Vienna

To top