Skip to main content

August 10, 2020

IST Austria Professor Tamas Hausel appointed member of the Academia Europaea

Mathematician Hausel is the seventh IST Austria professor to join the pan-European scientific society

Tamas Hausel. © IST Austria Nadine Poncioni
Tamas Hausel. © IST Austria / Nadine Poncioni

Tamas Hausel combines methods from algebraic geometry, representation theory and combinatorics to develop tools to study the topology of spaces arising from string theory and quantum field theory. Based on his academic achievements, Professor Hausel has been elected as a member of the Academia Europaea in the section Mathematics.

Before joining IST Austria in 2016, Tamas Hausel was Professor and Chair of Geometry at EPFL in Lausanne, Switzerland. He started his scientific career in 1998 with a PhD from Trinity College, University of Cambridge, UK. After positions at Princeton and Berkeley he became Assistant and later Associate Professor at the University of Texas, Austin, USA before also joining the University of Oxford, UK and later EPFL, Lausanne. Following this position he joined IST Austria. Tamas Hausel studies the topology of spaces arising from string theory and quantum field theory. His work has led to results and new conjectures that have previously been described by physicists and number theorists—connecting a wide variety of fields and ideas.

Hausel about the appointment: “I feel honored that I was elected to join the Academia Europaea.  It has an impressive list of members, an attractive pan-European ethos and roots in Cambridge and the Royal Society, where I spent some of my earlier academic career.” In addition to Tamas Hausel, six other IST Austria professors are already members of Academia Europaea: computer scientist and president of IST Austria Thomas Henzinger, the neuroscientists Joszef Csicsvari, Ryuichi Shigemoto and Peter Jonas as well as the mathematicians Herbert Edelsbrunner and László Erdős.

About the Academia Europaea

The Academia Europaea is a pan-European, non-governmental scientific society. Its members are scientists from a wide variety of scientific disciplines who wish to promote education and research worldwide through joint activities and events. These members are nominated once a year by a commission of experts. Founded in 1988, the association currently counts approximately 4,000 members, including over 50 Nobel Prize winners.


facebook share icon
twitter share icon
back-to-top icon
Back to Top