WoMen in Science: Change the World!

With this year’s focus WoMen in Science: Change the World! IST Austria highlights the need for gender equity. The program sheds light on the existing issues that researchers of all genders currently face and emphasizes best practice examples.

Find out more about our activities by clicking on the images below!

STEMFatale WoMen In Science
Poster WoMen In Science
WoMen In Science Change the World panel
Zoom A Scientist WoMen In Science
Exhibition WoMen In Science
Diversity and Inclusion IST Austria

Science is still dominated by men. But it shouldn´t be.

Find your personal approach through our assortment of empowering debates, artistic reflection, and outreach to the new generation!


STEM fatale Initiative

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics – STEM disciplines are still challenging for women’s careers.

Founded by Nicole Amberg and Melissa Stouffer of IST Austria, the STEM fatale Initiative aims to raise awareness about stereotypes and to break them open.

Find detailed information about the program here.

STEM fatale Talk Series

Inspiring women across STEM disciplines present their career paths and research. They show how they overcame (gender-related) challenges in their professional lives and they exchange experiences with young (female) researchers.

Speaker: Christa Schleper
Affiliation: University of Vienna, Head of Department of Functional and Evolutionary Ecology
Title: What we can learn from Archaea about early evolution (and about a scientist)
Talk: Feb. 11th, 2021 | 2:00 P.M. (CET) | virtual
Female Round Table: Feb. 11th, 2021 | 3:00 P.M. (CET) | virtual
Abstract: In the talk, she will give an update on the current knowledge of the ecology and evolution of archaea, on evolutionary scenarios as well as unresolved fundamental questions. She will mix in some personal experiences of her own scientific (STEM-fatale) journey that equally bears some unexpected and unresolved scenarios.
More information here.

New talks will be announced soon.


Zoom a Scientist Girls’ Special

Zoom a Scientist is a science education program created by IST Austria to connect school classes with IST Austria scientists via online meetings. Next to learning about scientific topics, it provides pupils with the chance to experience the human side of research.

For the WoMen in Science program Zoom a Scientist offers a Girls’ special. Girls will digitally meet female scientists to openly talk about their experiences in science, their dreams and how to deal with obstacles. The Girls’ Special is open to girls with an interest in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) subjects aged 13 and up. The first will be held in May, 2021.

Interested in participating? Please send us an e-mail and check back for dates on this page. Find more information about Zoom a Scientist here.


Exhibition: SHOW HOW TO EMPOWER

A photo exhibition based on interviews without words. Four questions for each scientist. Experiences about gender equity and balance, captured by the renowned photographer Peter Rigaud. Exhibited in the Mondi Hallway on campus and online. The online gallery will be available for viewing soon.

Show how to:

  • Empower (men and) women!
  • Speak your story!
  • Act differently!
  • Be strong against society!
  • Stand behind your choices!
  • Be more aware of particularities – communication matters!

Poster

On the occasion of WoMen in Science: Change the World! the artist Barbara Kapusta was invited to create a poster for the main lecture hall at IST Austria. The graphical intervention gives visibility to this important topic.

Barbara Kapusta´s work mirrors an interest in Donna Haraway’s studies on science, political consciousness as well as non-binary gender concepts in society. A central, recurring element in her practice is the conjunction between body and speech.

The poster will be coming soon.


WoMen in Science Day

This years “WoMen in Science Day” panel event follows the motto “WoMen in Science: Change the World!“. The tentatively planned date is November 10, 2021.

More information coming soon.



Back to Top

WoMen in Science: Change the World!

Mit dem diesjährigen Schwerpunkt WoMen in Science: Change the World! hebt das IST Austria die Notwendigkeit von Geschlechtergerechtigkeit hervor. Das Programm beleuchtet die bestehenden Probleme, mit denen Forscher_innen aller Geschlechter derzeit konfrontiert sind, und hebt Lösungen und Vorbilder hervor.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Aktivitäten, indem Sie auf die folgenden Bilder klicken!

STEMFatale WoMen In Science
Poster WoMen In Science
WoMen In Science Change the World panel
Zoom A Scientist WoMen In Science
Exhibition WoMen In Science
Diversity and Inclusion IST Austria

Die Wissenschaft ist noch immer dominiert von Männern. Aber das sollte sie nicht sein.

Finden Sie Ihren persönlichen Zugang durch unser vielfältiges Angebot an ermutigenden Debatten, künstlerischer Reflexionen und Austauschmöglichkeiten zwischen Forscher_innen und der jungen Generation!


STEM fatale Initiative

Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik – hierzulande als MINT bekannt, international als STEM-Disziplinen abgekürzt, stellen die Fachgebiete weltweit eine Herausforderung für die Karrieren von Frauen dar.

Gegründet von Nicole Amberg und Melissa Stouffer vom IST Austria hat die STEM fatale Initiative das Ziel, das Bewusstsein für Stereotypen zu schärfen und diese aufzubrechen.

Detaillierte Informationen über das Programm finden Sie hier.

STEM fatale Vortragsreihe

In den Beiträgen stellen inspirierende Frauen aus allen MINT-Disziplinen ihre Karrierewege und ihre Forschungen vor. Sie zeigen, wie sie (geschlechtsspezifische) Herausforderungen in ihrem Berufsleben gemeistert haben und tauschen Inspirationen mit jungen Forscher_innen aus.

Vortragende: Christa Schleper
Zugehörigkeit: Universität Wien, Leiterin des Abteilung für Funktionelle und Evolutionsökologie
Title: What we can learn from Archaea about early evolution (and about a scientist)
Vortrag: 11. Februar 2021 | 14:00 (CET) | virtual
Weibliche Diskussionsrunde: 11. Februar 2021 | 15:00 (CET) | virtual
Sprache: Englisch
Abstrakt: In the talk, she will give an update on the current knowledge of the ecology and evolution of archaea, on evolutionary scenarios as well as unresolved fundamental questions. She will mix in some personal experiences of her own scientific (STEM-fatale) journey that equally bears some unexpected and unresolved scenarios.
Weitere Informationen hier.

Ankündigungen neuer Vorträge folgen demnächst.


Zoom a Scientist Sonderedition für Mädchen

Zoom a Scientist ist ein wissenschaftliches Vermittlungsprogramm, das vom IST Austria entwickelt wurde, um Schulklassen mit IST Austria Wissenschafter_innen über Online-Meetings zu verbinden. Neben der Bildung in wissenschaftlichen Themen bietet es den Schüler_innen die Möglichkeit, die menschliche Seite von Forschung kennen zu lernen.

Für WoMen in Science bietet Zoom a Scientist eine Sonderedition exklusiv für Mädchen an. Mädchen können sich dabei virtuell mit Wissenschafterinnen treffen, um offen über Erfahrungen in der Wissenschaft, ihre Träume und den Umgang mit Widerständen zu sprechen. Die Sonderedition richtet sich an Mädchen ab 13 Jahren mit einem Interesse an MINT-Fächern (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik). Die erste Veranstaltung wird im Mai 2021 stattfinden.

Interessiert daran teilzunehmen? Dann senden Sie uns ein E-Mail. Die genauen Termine finden Sie bald hier auf dieser Seite. Weitere Informationen zu Zoom a Scientist finden Sie hier.


Exhibition: SHOW HOW TO EMPOWER

Eine Fotoausstellung basierend auf Interviews ohne Worte. Vier Fragen für die Wissenschafterin oder den Wissenschafter. Erfahrungen über Geschlechtergerechtigkeit und -gleichgewicht, eingefangen vom renommierten Fotografen Peter Rigaud. Ausgestellt in der Mondi Hallway am IST-Campus und online. Die Online-Galerie wird in Kürze zur Ansicht verfügbar sein.

Show how to:

  • Empower (men and) women!
  • Speak your story!
  • Act differently!
  • Be strong against society!
  • Stand behind your choices!
  • Be more aware of particularities – communication matters!

Poster

Anlässlich von WoMen in Science: Change the World! wurde die Künstlerin Barbara Kapusta eingeladen, ein Poster für den Hauptvortragssaal des IST Austria zu gestalten. Die künstlerische Intervention verleiht dem Thema gebührende Sichtbarkeit.

Barbara Kapustas Arbeit spiegelt ein Interesse an Donna Haraways Studien über Wissenschaft, politisches Bewusstsein sowie nicht-binäre Geschlechterkonzepte in der Gesellschaft wider. Ein zentrales, wiederkehrendes Element in ihrem Schaffen ist die Verbindung von Körper und Sprache.

Das Poster wird in Kürze erscheinen.


WoMen in Science Day

Informationen zum Event folgen demnächst.



Nach Oben